, , , , ,

The LEED is a certification system created by the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC). LEED certification is available in four progressive levels, Green, Silver, Gold, and Platinum. Points are earned based on the degree of adherence to the LEED standards. The number of points earned determines the level of LEED Certification the project receives.

The criteria for certification is organized into six categories:

  • Sustainable Sites
  • Innovation in Design
  • Water Efficiency
  • Energy and Atmosphere
  • Materials and Resources
  • Indoor Environmental Quality

You will need to carefully consider the type of building materials used, plumbing and HVAC systems installed, as well as landscaping and other factors. By designing and building your projects with LEED criteria in mind, you can plan for any specific environmental and sustainability issues that might affect the construction, operations, and management of your residential or commercial building project.

What are the Benefits of LEED Certification for New Construction?

What does that mean for new construction projects? LEED certification means that the house or building is designed and operates according to standards from the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC).

Everything from using sustainable building material to the type of water filtration, and HVAC systems can save money on operating and maintenance costs. You will also have to consider using:

  • Energy saving light bulbs
  • Low EVO paint and carpet
  • Sustainable native landscaping

Adhering to LEED criteria and attaining a level of LEED certification offers many environmental, economic and even health benefits. For some commercial buildings, a LEED certification can also influence the type of tenants you attract.

Contact Veri Construction to learn how attaining LEED Certification can benefit your new construction project. We are an award-winning Certified NARI Remodeler, serving customers in New Jersey area.